Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
205
4
4
 …
"Painfully beautiful."—The New York Times Book Review"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."—Bustle"Owens delivers her lush mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose."—Alexandra FullerHow long can you protect your heart?For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life—until the unthinkable happens.Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
Publisher: 2018
ISBN: 9780735219113
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
SJB3200
Jun 06, 2020

Wonderful book, just couldn't lay it down. Often sad, always hopeful, great love story. I'm searching for another Delia Owen's book.

w
wfleenor
Jun 04, 2020

Beautifully, well written historical fiction novel based in the marshy south.

l
LabgirlLoree
May 30, 2020

One of my top five favorite books ever!

j
Jenkskitten
May 28, 2020

A haunting story of a little girl growing up in the marsh lands all alone. Everyone she depended on leaves her, without much food, money or skills to survive. It is hard to imagine how one would exist without love, a touch of gentleness or even companionship. The author weaves a good tale with lots of excess description of the marsh and it's wildlife. Great ending that brings many things to closure, easy reading and I recommend reading it.

s
Suereads_2
May 25, 2020

Great read once you get past the first few chapters. Well written accounts of an area of our country I was not familiar. I have had returning thoughts of parts of this book. So well written and readable in such a way that your mind continues to call into question characters!

t
tetiana3
May 23, 2020

A great book. Truly couldn't put it down. The characters are so raw and believable. This book makes you take a look at life and realize that things are not black and white.

t
tessambb
May 17, 2020

A beautifully written, heartbreaking story of Kya Clark, the "Marsh Girl," who against all odds and prejudices is able to survive on her own in the North Carolina wetlands. As she grows, her beauty attracts two different men into her life with different motives. A murder mystery and courtroom drama evolve with Kya at the center. The answer to the mystery will have you hooked until the end!

p
PeggyJ_0
May 16, 2020

As I started listening to the book, I didn’t think I would like it. I’m not a big fan of “coming of age“ books. Then I read some of the reviews on this sight. There sure is a mixture of opinions! I almost returned it, but in the end stuck with it. It held my attention to the very end. As I type this now there are tears in my eyes. I was “on hold” for the book 6 months, I got it much quicker, due to Covid 19, than I thought I would. I’m glad I read it

f
fantasyqueen
May 14, 2020

Excellent read!
There were so many lessons in this story. There is a caste system alive and well in America today - why is it allowed to remain, how is it perpetuated, how can it be stopped. Do the laws of nature apply to humans.
The ending of the book was pure perfection. Gave us readers an answer to what became of the necklace but left the rest hanging

i
ididarodkid
May 02, 2020

I agree with GSP2104. It became predictable as I read on where this story was going. I did not finish it as so many others were waiting. It took the turn from the beauty of the marsh to the culture of the 60's in the area of location. This novel will surely appeal to a dedicated set of readers. It simply lacked the depth of reflection that I enjoy.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
e
ellysaurus
Feb 04, 2020

ellysaurus thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

t
t3485tank
Oct 31, 2019

t3485tank thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

a
AliceInWonderbread
Sep 19, 2019

AliceInWonderbread thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

n
nherrera61
Aug 07, 2019

nherrera61 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
amahof7
Jan 30, 2020

Tate’s father told him many times, “The definition of a real man is one who cries with shame, reads poetry with his heart, feels opera in his soul and does what’s necessary to defend a woman.”
Mabel to Kya:”Ya need some girlfriends hon, cause they’re forever. Without a vow, a clutch of women is the most tender, most tough place on earth”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“She knew the years of isolation had altered her behavior until she was different from others, but it wasn't her fault she'd been alone. Most of what she knew, she'd learned from the wild. Nature had nurtured, tutored, and protected her when no one else would.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“I wasn't aware that words could hold so much. I didn't know a sentence could be so full.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“Sometimes she heard night-sounds she didn’t know or jumped from lightning too close, but whenever she stumbled, it was the land who caught her. Until at last, at some unclaimed moment, the heart-pain seeped away like water into sand. Still there, but deep. Kya laid her hand upon the breathing, wet earth, and the marsh became her mother.”

Summary

Add a Summary
j
janiedobbs
Dec 30, 2019

The novel’s main narrative opens in the marshland near the fictional town of Barkley Cove, North Carolina. Seven-year-old Catherine “Kya” Clark lives in a shack in the swamp with her mother, father, and siblings. However, one day, Kya’s mother leaves the shack forever in order to escape the physical abuse inflicted by Kya’s father. Kya’s siblings soon leave on their own as well, leaving only Kya and Pa. Pa spends increasingly more time away from the shack over the years, and when Kya is about ten years old, Pa leaves forever. Kya has become thoroughly self-sufficient by this time, living on the land and occasionally trading in town for necessary supplies.

When Kya is 14 years old, a kind local boy named Tate Walker begins to visit Kya, and he teaches her how to read. He is about four years older than Kya. He also gives Kya his old textbooks from school. When Kya is 15 years old, she and Tate fall in love, but Tate insists that they do not have sex until Kya is older. Tate soon leaves for college, and although he promises to love and remember Kya, Kya feels abandoned. When Kya is 19 years old, she suddenly becomes attracted to a young local man named Chase Andrews. Chase begins visiting her often. Chase says that he loves her and is eager to have sex with her. Kya refuses at first, but after about a year, she consents to sex.

Tate eventually returns to Barkley Cove in order to perform scientific research on the marshland. He visits Kya and asks for forgiveness, but she refuses to take him back. Tate sees that Kya has performed much of her own research on the marshland, and he urges Kya to submit it to publishers. Tate also warns Kya that Chase is a dishonest womanizer. One day, Kya sees in the newspaper that Chase has become engaged to someone else. She is heartbroken. Later, she submits her research to publishers, and when she is 22 years old, a book of her research is published under her name. Kya’s brother Jodie sees the book in a store and returns to the swamp to reconnect with Kya. Jodie encourages Kya to give Tate another chance.

Chase eventually visits Kya and says that he wants to continue his relationship with her, despite the fact that he is married to someone else. When Kya refuses him, Chase tries to rape her. She hits him and escapes. Kya realizes that because Chase is such a popular member of the town, and because she is an outcast for living in the swamp, she has no recourse. One day, in October of 1969, Chase’s body is found near the swamp. He appears to have fallen—or possibly have been pushed—out of a fire watchtower. The sheriff investigates and arrests Kya. However, the evidence is inconclusive and circumstantial, and Kya is acquitted. She and Tate declare their love for each other, and they live together in the swamp. Kya continues her career as a naturalist, and Tate continues his career as a researcher. Kya dies at age 64, after which Tate finds evidence that seems to prove that Kya killed Chase. He disposes of the evidence so that no one will ever find it.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GRPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top