Pachinko

Pachinko

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
62
1
1
 …
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"-- Provided by publisher.
In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.
Publisher: New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781455563913
1455563919
9781455569656
1455569658
Characteristics: 1 online resource (490 pages)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
StarGladiator
Feb 16, 2020

The author writes in an amalgam of styles, flitting from the lyrical to banal to prosaic and then to the humdrum of daily life - - with some occasional profound passages. An interesting fact as fiction portrayal of generations of one Korean-Japanese family, with tangential interludes of intervening lives.
Knockout of an ending!

w
writermala
Feb 11, 2020

If Min Jin Lee made a statement in her debut novel "free food for millionaires," she shows in "Pachinko" that she is here to stay. In this book she shows the angst of Korean immigrants in Japan - immigrants after being there for four generations and being born there. The characters are sketched well and I felt for them.

l
llouise84
Feb 10, 2020

The book is sweeping and overwhelmed me in the best way. I felt such affinity with the characters' internalization of shame based on the legal and social discrimination of the time and legacies of both. The book is more that that. It is broad and by the end of it you'll be wanting to more fully understand your grandmothers and their un-named sacrifices and hopes for themselves.

h
hulb0012
Jan 24, 2020

The first two parts were great and very engaging and would have been an almost perfect book if it ended there. It felt like she lost her way with the last part and it didn't fit as well with the rest of the book. Still a good book and worth the read.

debwalker Jan 22, 2020

This multi-generational tale follows a poor Korean immigrant family in Japan.

t
teemsum
Jan 08, 2020

In the style of Maeve Binchy...a beautiful read.

g
ginny5cents
Dec 12, 2019

Easily the best book out of a few hundred I read in the last couple of years. I did not find it too long. It is a richly layered story over three generations of complex relationships.

m
mosermorse
Nov 12, 2019

I agree with comments that it was too long. I did learn about how Koreans were treated in Japan and I knew nothing about that. I like to read stories about immigration.

h
hollymsellers
Oct 26, 2019

496 pages

l
LT
Oct 20, 2019

Ms. Lee's book is fascinating, lyrical, and studded with rich detail. The book's initial promise is diluted a little by the sheer volume of viewpoints added to the story in the final chapters. I found Pachinko delightful for the most part, but somehow felt a little disillusioned or cheated by the many tragedies that took place toward the end of the book.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
c
carolinemichelle
Feb 19, 2020

carolinemichelle thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
t
Tjad2LT
Aug 23, 2017

Sexual Content: explicit sexual content

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
ambdizzle
Aug 23, 2019

Yoseb could understand the boy’s anger, but he wanted another chance to talk to him, to tell Noa that a man must learn to forgive—to know what is important, that to live without forgiveness was a kind of death with breathing and movement.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GRPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top