The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

Book - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
12
France, 1714. In a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever--and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets. Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world. But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.
Publisher: Waterville, ME : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2020
Edition: Large print edition
Copyright Date: ©2020
ISBN: 9781432883515
1432883518
Characteristics: 787 pages (large print) ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
Aedoughty
Nov 21, 2020

Silent Reader Recommendation

ArapahoeMeagan Nov 19, 2020

I give this book 10/5 stars. Absolutely one of my favorite things I have ever read. I loved every single second of it. Every line was beautiful and poetic and incredibly profound. GAH! I can't give it enough praise. I will be thinking about this story and recommending it to everyone for a long, long time. I wish I could read it again for the first time!!!!

WPL_Jaclyn Nov 16, 2020

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is a beautifully written story about a girl who makes a deal and is cursed to be forgotten by anyone that she meets in exchange for a long life that has no ties. Addie is indeed forgotten by everyone. Until she isn't.

Fans of lyrical writing will find much to appreciate in this beautiful and strange story. Julia Whalen also does an fantastic job of bringing Addie to life in all of it's messiness, sadness and loneliness.

FPL_Annie Nov 14, 2020

Despite the summary, this novel reads more like a romance than either fantasy or historical fiction. The writing can be a bit twee, but touching nonetheless.

Phil_R Nov 13, 2020

This novel is flat and empty. Loved 'Darker Shades' and was hoping for more exciting Schwab fantasy action, instead we get a novel that should have been impossible to write, and certainly not worth reading. I wanted to quit reading it every time I picked it up, but had faith in the author, and now it's lost.

k
Katerette
Nov 11, 2020

For me, this book was over-written. It needed about a 100 page edit and the story was a bit too predictable. As summarized in other reviews Addie makes a deal with a spirit that answers in the night to live until she is done with her soul. I think some may find her confidence and precociousness inspiring, but i often found her foolish and frustrating. Very much agree with the review criticizing the lack of historical events in the novel - why have a character live through 300 years of history if we get to see, feel, and read about almost none of it? Yes, she lives through these times, but we don't get to join in those experiences as she is often distracted by her escapades trying to (successfully?!?) outsmart an omnipotent being or magically whisked away to safety MULTIPLE TIMES! (Deus ex machina, much?) The romance plot adds some interest but besides the fact they CAN be together, the lovers don't seem to fit together in any other way. I really did want to love this book, but i just didn't.

p
plattsla
Nov 02, 2020

Adeline LaRue knows two things for certain: she does not want to get marries and you should never pray to the gods that answer after dark. Destined to live out her life alone, Addie wanders the Earth for centuries forgotten and unable to leave a mark on history. Until one day, someone remembers her.

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is a luxuriously written urban fantasy. Although Addie is cursed to be forgettable, she is unlikely to be forgotten by readers. From page one, I was gripped. Addie's unconquerable spirit is a marvel and her flaws are a joy to explore.

When she meets Henry, there begins a second story full of hope and love where there was only despair and one-night stands. I won't spoil the story, but I will say it has to be one of the most beautifully written romances I have read in a long time.

This one is for fans of Holly Black, Naomi Novik, Neil Gaiman and Cassandra Clare.

I am not okay. This was absolutely heartbreaking, but in the best way possible.

Addie LaRue made a deal: she will live forever, but no one will remember her. She is forced to slip through life, surviving however she can, but at least she is free. She has books, and films, and paintings, and if she is a little lonely, she can distract herself with momentary romances as she needs to. The darkness who holds her deal has other plans, though, and Addie is determined to best him, to live her life, to experience all she can.

So, wow. I will forever be in awe of V.E. Schwab and her writing. This was just so lyrical yet accessible, so beautifully written yet grounded in reality, and I did not want it to end. At all. I shed more than a few tears after I turned the last page.

Addie is such a wonderful heroine. She's full of fire, and her story is so tragic, but she never gives up - until a different kind of love changes her. And on that note, Henry is just so wonderfully relatable and tragic and heart-achingly beautiful in his own ways; a few of his chapters made me tear up, made me want to reach into the pages and just hug him.

Story-wise, this is more meandering than some may enjoy, but I thought it made the narrative seem so very personal and moving. You literally move through the centuries with Addie, learning and experiencing everything with her, and it just all took me away from reality in a way that I covet in my books. Is there a huge amount of action? No. But it wouldn't have been the same story, and I think the world needs this story exactly the way it is.

This was just the perfect combination of stunning writing, memorable characters, and a story that makes you want to rip your heart out of your chest because it's both too happy and too sad all at once. I adored it.

a
allysunsun24
Oct 22, 2020

Well, I had ridiculously high standards for this book as V.E. Schwab has nailed everything she's ever written. And this books has claimed it's place as my favourite of her works. The hype around the book is real and it's so well deserved. I loved Addie Larue and following her life and journey in the way this book was written was so well done. Henry and Luc are also great side characters and it's so interesting to see how the story unfolded especially with that ending! Wow did I cry.

debwalker Oct 13, 2020

When you make a pact with the devil to escape an arranged marriage....

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GRPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top